The 2019 UniSA Sport Awards Night Wrap

Alex Traeger


Over 150 guests came together on Tuesday 3rd December to celebrate the achievements of people from all over the UniSA community at the seventh annual UniSA Sport Awards Night. The event, held at the National Wine Centre, celebrated individuals, teams and clubs for their efforts on and off the sporting field.

One of the newest clubs at UniSA Sport was recognised with several awards on the night. The UniSA Motorsport Club was awarded Club of the Year, while their president Scott Evans was presented the Club Administrator of the Year Award.

Following his success in Professional Long Course Triathlon events across the world in 2019, Steven McKenna was awarded the Male Athlete of the Year.

For the second consecutive year Australian cyclist Caitlin Ward was recognised for her outstanding season on the track, being named the Female Athlete of the Year.

UniSA’s UniSport Nationals Women’s Volleyball Team won the Team of the Year after winning silver medals at both the UniSport Nationals Div 1 and Div 2 events on the Gold Coast this year.

In recognition of his dedication to the UniSA Lacrosse Club, intervarsity events and the UniSA Sport Advisory Group, Luke Oswald received the Volunteer of the Year Award.

The final award of the night – the Georgie Rowe Outstanding Achievement Award – was earned by lacrosse player and UniSport Nationals Div 2 Team Captain Olivia Parker.

The Georgie Rowe Outstanding Achievement Award is considered the highest honour at UniSA Sport and recognises a UniSA student who demonstrates outstanding achievement as a player, administrator or volunteer and celebrates Georgie’s sporting achievements in perpetuity.

Several athletes were also recognised for their outstanding success at both international and university level, by receiving a Blues Award. Dana Johnston, Lillie Wakefield, Patrick Constable, Alison Heinrich and Elizabeth Inaba-Hill all earned Blues Awards.

Half Blues Awards were presented to eight students who achieved sporting success at state or national representative level whilst also contributing to university sport: Kelsey Piltz, Jasmine Newmarch, Matthew Sheldon, Jack Hall, Daniella Kartawibowo, Harley Smith, Alison Heinrich and Lillie Wakefield.

Caitlin Grayston, Raph O’Connor, Christopher Cordingley, Andy Chiem, Patrick Schultz, Scott Evans, Jess Kuchenmeister, Myles Kenihan, Luke Nguyen and Jack Hall were presented with Club Colours Awards, for their significant contributions to the development of their respective UniSA sport clubs.

The Information and Technology and Mathematical Science (ITMS) Schools’ win in the 2019 Vice Chancellors Cup was celebrated, with the team accepting the Cup on stage.

Two nominees were also presented with 2018 UniSport Australia awards at the event. UniSA Ultimate Club president Sean Davis was recognised with the Outstanding Contribution by a Student Volunteer in a Club on Campus award, while UniSA Sport photographer Juan Van Staden was awarded the Most Outstanding Sports Photo (Action) and Most Outstanding Sports Photo (Team).

In between the award presentations, guests were treated to a speech from Australian Olympic swimmer, current world record holder and UniSA student Madison Wilson OAM, as she embarks on her Tokyo 2020 Olympics campaign and music from Kym Miaco.

It was a lovely night coming together to celebrate some wonderful individual and group achievements at UniSA Sport throughout 2019.

Stay tuned on how you can be involved in an even bigger 2020!


As a Team UniSA member you'll benefit from discounted memberships, get access to 25+ UniSA Sport clubs, have the chance to represent UniSA at intervarsity or community sporting events, and more!